

The Glossop Glass & Glazing Derbyshire & Cheshire Cricket League



<u>Minutes of Annual General Meeting – Thursday 24th October 2019</u> <u>Broadbottom CC – 8.00pm</u>

Present (Rollcall of clubs): All present except High Lane, New Mills, Offerton and Tintwistle

Apologies: Thomas Bellieu and John Richards

Minutes of 2018 A.G.M: Were read and Proposed by Charlesworth, Seconded by Woodley

Honorary Secretary Report:

The main impact on the 2019 season was unfortunately the weather, which resulted in the loss of numerous games. The rain was truly awful and nearly had a major impact on one of our villages, Whaley Bridge. Fortunately it was only cricket that lost out on this occasion.

However, once the rain abated the cricket overall was competitive. We had another change of format with 5 divisions compared to the previous years 6 and it was pleasing to see different winners of every division. Congratulations to Tintwistle (Div2), Charlesworth (Div 3), Dove Holes (Div 4) and Hadfield (Div 5), and a very well done to Dinting for winning the First Division. I believe they were everybody's favourite to be relegated this year so it was a fantastic turn around to be actual winners.

The "different clubs" theme continued in the cup competitions which were won by Broadbottom (Bissenden), Dove Holes (Hawke) and Mottram (20/20). Again congratulations to all three.

Junior cricket was also buoyant this year with many clubs stating they have good numbers at the younger levels although, unfortunately this did not transfer to the older age groups, and the U17's was only a knockout competition this year. For the first time ever we had a full female team in the competition being Hayfield U13's and also had a U11's team from outside the league in Mellor. Junior cricket is getting to be in a good place which gives us all optimism for the future.

Off field, and as you are all aware, there were problems at the start of the season with several resignations in key positions which needed to be replaced at short notice. As a management committee we have already apologised for the disruption at the start of the season. We have already asked for everyone's commitment for the coming season so there should be no repeat prior to next season. We also received, and accepted, the resignations of Mottram and Hadfield St. Andrews, both of whom have joined the Greater Manchester league. We wish them well in their new venture. The loss of these two teams (and Hawk Green last year) is very disappointing but as a management committee we are actively looking to try and bring in replacements, and looking at ways how to do this.

Currently the management committee are attending club meetings to find out your plans for the future, which we hope will lead to a 5 year plan to make the league secure, competitive, and hopefully expand the league. Please ensure you return the questionaires and give us dates of your meetings.

Finally it would be very remiss of me not to thank our outgoing Chairman Karl Williams for his sterling and important work as chairman for the last 10 years. Karls believes that, for Cricket to survive, not just the DCCL, there needs to be much change by the leagues and clubs. However,he's not vanishing completely as he is still doing the overseas transfers, and is remaining as Secretary of the Discipline Committee.

Treasurers Report: Proposed by Chapel and Seconded by Paul Smith

The Treasurer cannot be present, and the accounts are attached to this agenda. The balance is £8,903.10, up from £8,088.90 this time last year.

Thanks to Tom for his efforts this year.

Also thanks to our Sponsors, Glossop Glass and Glazing, Readers and Kudos drinks for their Financial Support this year

The treasurer also wished to express his thanks to the auditor, Bob Halstead.



The Glossop Glass & Glazing Derbyshire & | Cheshire Cricket League



Election of League Officers/Management Committee:

Position	Current Holder	2020 Nominee(s)	Proposer	Seconder
President	Alan Johnson	Alan Johnson	Karl Williams	Steve Croft
Vice President	Paul Eyre	Paul Eyre	Karl Williams	Steve Monks
Chairman	Karl Williams	Martin Cooper	Stalybridge	Karl Williams
Vice Chairman	Martin Cooper	TBA	ТВА	TBA
Honorary Secretary	Mike Stansfield	Mike Stansfield	Paul Smith	Steve Monks
Treasurer	Thomas Bellieu	Thomas Bellieu	Mike Wild	Stalybridge
Asst Secretary (Stats)	Stuart Elliott	Stuart Elliott	Mike Stansfield	Compstall
Umpires Appointment Secretary	John J Smith	JJ Smith	Chapel	Broadbottom
Press Agent	Conor Keem	Conor Keem	Steve Croft	Mike Wild
Auditor	Bob Halstead	Bob Halstead	Steve Monks	Karl Williams
Junior Secretary	Den Lane	Den Lane	Hayfield	Mike Wild
Management Committee Members	Current Holder	2020 Nominee	Proposer	Seconder
	Mike Wild	Mike Wild	Birch Vale	Stalybridge
	Stephen Croft	Stephen Croft	Birch Vale	Stalybridge
	John Richards	John Richards	Birch Vale	Stalybridge
	Paul Smith	Paul Smith	Birch Vale	Stalybridge
	Mark Vernon	Mark Vernon	Birch Vale	Stalybridge
	Stephen Monks	Stephen Monks	Birch Vale	Stalybridge

Notes on the above:- There had been a nomination for Vice Chairman but this was received after the cut off and was therefore not put forward at this stage. The matter is to be discussed and voted on at the next Management Meeting.

The Management Committee Members were voted on altogether hence the same Proposer and Seconder for all. No other nominations were received for Management Committee but the new Chairman,. Martin Cooper, stated he was actively looking for new members for the committee.

Further thanks were given to Karl Williams for his stirling work as Chairman for last 10 years, and Karl was also presented with a present from the League. Don't worry, he's not gone completely as he is remaining on the Disciplinary Committee!

Section One Rule Amendments:

None Proposed for 2019

Any Other Business:

None brought forward so AGM concluded and Executive Committee meeting started